Presidential search

The search for AUArts' next President and CEO is on.

Change is on the horizon for Alberta University of the Arts as Dr. Daniel Doz, a distinguished leader serving as President and CEO, announced he will be not running for a fourth term after his 15 years at the helm. Dr. Doz will conclude his term in July 2025.

In alignment with the Presidential Search and Review Policy, the Search, Selection and Appointment of a New President Procedure the Board’s Governance and Human Resources Committee has assembled a Presidential Search Committee (PSC) to lead the recruitment process with the responsibilities set out in the Presidential Search Committee Terms of Reference.

The PSC’s work is a priority for AUArts and will extend into 2025 with a goal of attracting the best caliber of candidates. The PSC places a priority on process integrity and protecting all applicants’ confidentiality. On this website, you’ll find updates on all matters related to the presidential search.

The presidential search committee

Voting Members 

  1. Adrian Stimson, Board Chair and Chair of the PSC
  2. Sheila Taylor, Vice Chair of the Board and PSC
  3. Chi Illiya-Ndule, Chair of Governance and HR Committee
  4. Evan Legate, Public Board Member
  5. Yoke-Sum Wong, Faculty Member
  6. Tanya Mryglod, Student Member
  7. Cassandra Paul, Non-Academic Staff Member
  8. Mackenzie Kelly-Frère, General Faculties Council Member
  9. Carissa Cameron Matthews, Deans’ Council Member
  10. Scott Powell, President’s Cabinet Member


  1. Cherie Tutt, University Secretary
  2. Wendy Harding, Executive Director, People and Culture