

General Faculties Council November 22, 2023 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Room 532

Agenda

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated Time	
Land Acknowledgement: Alberta University of the Arts (AUArts) is situated on the ancestral land of the Siksikaitsitapi – Blackfoot (Siksika, Kainai, Piikani) and the shared territories of the Tsuut'ina - North Dene Sarcee, Iyarhe Nakoda - Stoney (Bearspaw, Chiniki, Good Stoney) and homeland of the Métis Nation of Alberta Region III. The City of Calgary has long been called Moh'kins'tsis by the Siksika, Guts'ists'i by the Tsuut'ina, and Wîchîspa by the Nakoda.					
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Doz	Document	2:00	
2.	Conflict of Interest Declaration	Doz	Verbal	-	
3.	October 18, 2023 Minutes for Approval	Doz	Document	-	
4.	Report from the President and CEO	Doz	Verbal	2:05	
	Action Items				
5.	Revisions to the GFC Standing Committee Terms of Reference	Doz/Ansari/ Ortiz/Tutt	Document	2:10	
	Information Items				
6.	Indigenous Pathways	Doz/Ortiz	Document	2:25	
7.	Reports from the Deans 1. Academic Programs 2. Students 3. Innovation, Learning and Development	Goldie Ortiz Hamilton	Presentation Document Document	2:45	
8.	Students' Association Report	Covey/Song	Document	3:05	
9.	Board Report to GFC for the October 24, 2023 Meeting	In-Package Only	Document	-	
10.	School Council Minutes: SCCS September 27, 2023 SVA/SCEM October 4, 2023	In-Package Only	Document	-	
11.	BDes Program Revisions	In-Package Only	Document	-	
12.	AUArts Good News Moment	All	Verbal	3:15	
13.	Adjournment Next Meeting: January 17, 2024	Doz	Verbal	3:20	



General Faculties Council November 22, 2023 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Room 532

Regrets and Questions: Cherie Tutt, University Secretary cherie.tutt@auarts.ca

Attendance

Name	Term	Attendance/Notes
Voting Members (29) – Quorum 15		
Statutory Ex Officio Members: PSLA 23(a)		
Dr. Daniel Doz, Chair	Virtue of office	
Dr. Janis Goldie, Vice Chair	Virtue of office	
Arif Ansari	Virtue of office	
Nicole Hamilton	Virtue of office	
Michelle Housley	Virtue of office	
Jamie Leong-Huxley	Virtue of office	
Dr. Alex Link	Virtue of office	
Scott Powell	Virtue of office	
Dr. Rob Stone	Virtue of office	
Statutory Elected Members: PSLA 23(b), 24(1)		
School of Communication Design		
Karl Geist	June 30, 2024	
Nick Johnston	June 30, 2026	
Silas Kaufman	June 30, 2024	
Mike Kerr	June 30, 2024	
School of Craft and Emerging Media		
Marty Kaufman	June 30, 2024	
Mackenzie Kelly-Frère	June 30, 2026	
Anahita Mosayebi	June 30, 2026	
Paul Robert	June 30, 2024	
School of Visual Art		
Alana Bartol	June 30, 2026	
Richard Brown	June 30, 2024	
Lisa Lipton	June 30, 2026	
School of Critical and Creative Studies		
Vacant		
By Degree Area (4): PSLA 25		
Laurel Johannesson	June 30, 2026	
Jamie Kroeger	June 30, 2026	
Suzanne Lemermeyer	June 30, 2026	
Dr. Kara Stone	June 30, 2026	
Statutory Student Members: PSLA 23 (c)(i)		
Quynn Covey	May 31, 2024	
Juli Song	May 31, 2024	
Appointed Members: PSLA 23 (d), 25		
John Gaucher	June 30, 2025	



General Faculties Council November 22, 2023 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Room 532

Virtue of office	
Virtue of office	
Virtue of office	
Virtue of office	
	Virtue of office Virtue of office